Model assessment · Instant Pot / Instant Brands

Instant Pot Pro Plus Smart Multi-Cooker, 6 qt review

A six-quart Wi-Fi-connected pressure multicooker with a separate, unpressurized Slow Cook program. Its R13 U.S. manual gives selectable Low and High settings, 30-minute-to-24-hour cooking, app control, and a separate Sous Vide water-bath program. The exact U.S. product page describes a removable tri-ply stainless pot usable from stovetop to oven up to 350°F.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Instant Pot Pro Plus 6QT Smart Multi-Cooker, exact U.S. model 112-0124-01, with Wi-Fi control panel and phone app
Exact page-linked manufacturer image; the Pro Plus panel and phone-app screen are visible. Manufacturer does not state whether image is photographed or rendered. Instant Pot / Instant Brands
A useful fit for

For a cook who wants a six-quart stainless cooking vessel, the option to move the removable pot from stovetop to a 350°F oven, and remote app control of cooker programs. Slow Cook is separate and unpressurized, with Low/High temperature choices and a 24-hour maximum. The manual places interactive guided recipes in the phone app, not as step-by-step prompts on the cooker display.

The main tradeoff

The Pro Plus has fewer Slow Cook menu choices and a 24-hour timer ceiling, unlike the standard Pro 6QT’s five named Slow Cook presets and 99-hour-30-minute limit. App setup requires the supported phone/Wi-Fi connection. The appliance base itself remains countertop-only; the removable pot’s external cookware allowance does not apply to the powered cooker. Weight and open-lid clearance are not established.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is a named Yogurt program essential on this six-quart cooker?

Yes. The standard RIO page lists Yogurt; the same-size Chef Series lists Egg instead, so the family name alone is not enough.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a stainless-steel inner pot rather than a coated insert?

The exact standard RIO is listed with a stainless-steel anti-spin pot and tri-ply base. It is a material preference, not a performance or easy-clean guarantee.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can you delay the Slow Cook start, but not set a ready-at time?

The standard RIO manual permits a delayed start for Slow Cook; it does not document a user-selected dinner-finish clock or a default delay length.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the exact RIO Gourmet 112-2213-01 meet a six-quart minimum with a stainless pot and named Yogurt mode?

Yes for the documented RIO 6QT shared-function plan. The exact Gourmet page lists the six-quart stainless anti-spin tri-ply pot and Yogurt among its seven named functions; the exact linked R36 RIO manual includes SKU 112-2213-01.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the RIO Gourmet delay a Slow Cook start without a user-selected meal-ready clock?

The page-linked RIO manual describes a selectable Delay Start, but not a finish-time schedule. Do not treat a start delay as a ready-at control.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would a requirement for four saved Favorite keys point away from RIO Gourmet?

Yes. Its inspected panel and exact page do not document the four programmable Favorite keys that distinguish the RIO Chef Series.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Instant Pot Pro Plus 6QT Smart Multi-Cooker (112-0124-01) is for someone who wants a real Slow Cook program inside a pressure-capable, connected countertop appliance. Its useful distinction is not just the “Smart” label: the exact manual documents app control of the cooker’s Smart Programs, while its slow-cook timer itself tops out at 24 hours. That makes this a different choice from the standard Pro 6QT, whose manual provides a much longer selectable Slow Cook limit and five local Favorite keys.

Instant Pot Pro Plus Smart Multi-Cooker, exact U.S. model 112-0124-01, with its control panel and app display
Exact page-linked manufacturer image for SKU 112-0124-01. It shows the black Pro Plus panel and a phone running the recipe app; the manufacturer does not state whether the image is photographed or rendered.

A separate unpressurized Slow Cook cycle

The 64-page U.S. R13 manual calls Slow Cook a non-pressure program and lists High as the default temperature, with High and Low as the two selectable levels. You can choose a cycle from 30 minutes to 24 hours. Keep Warm is on by default after cooking, and Delay Start is available; the manual gives that start-delay control a 10-minute to 24-hour range. A Delay Start countdown chooses when cooking begins, not when the meal should be ready, and the unusually long end of a control range is not an instruction to leave a particular recipe cooking or warming for that long.

The Plus offers a straightforward routine if you are comfortable choosing Low or High and setting a timer locally or in the app. It does not offer the standard Pro’s named Chicken, Beef, Soup and Beans Slow Cook presets. The standard Pro manual instead lists five Slow Cook programs—Custom, Chicken, Beef, Soup and Beans—with High defaults and selectable times as long as 99 hours 30 minutes. If that long timer is your essential need, compare the standard Pro 6QT rather than assuming two models sharing the Pro name use the same Slow Cook menu.

Phone guidance is separate from the cooker’s display

Instant Pot describes more than 2,000 interactive recipes in the Instant Connect app and says the app can start, monitor and adjust the Pro Plus. The manual likewise says the app can control the cooker’s Smart Programs, lets you choose settings remotely and can guide a recipe step by step. The panel on the appliance has a time-and-temperature display and a progress bar, but the manual locates the step-by-step virtual recipe guide in the app. So this model is relevant if app control is useful; it is not the same need as on-cooker recipe prompts. If you prefer to avoid a phone, the manual also explains how to select and adjust settings on the control panel.

Slow Cook is only one of ten named functions. The page lists pressure cooking, Sauté, Steam, Sous Vide, Canning, Rice, Yogurt, NutriBoost and Keep Warm alongside it. These are distinct programs, not simultaneous stages. For example, the separate Sous Vide plan uses sealed food bags in a water bath, has its own temperature and timer controls, and does not use pressure; its manual says Delay Start and Keep Warm are unavailable in that mode. Do not transfer a Slow Cook setting or control capability to a different program.

Six quarts of stainless steel, with a specific cookware advantage

The exact page lists a six-quart pot, 1,200 watts, 120 volts at 60 Hz, a one-year limited warranty, and a closed body measuring 13.2 inches long, 13 inches wide and 12.7 inches high. The maker describes the removable pot as tri-ply stainless steel with an aluminum core and a flat bottom for searing. It also states that this pot can move from stovetop to an oven up to 350°F and then to the table. That allowance is for the removable pot; the manual warns that the powered cooker itself belongs on a countertop, not on a stove or near an oven. The page and manual do not publish the empty appliance weight or the clearance needed to remove the locking lid.

The stainless surface is not a nonstick coating. In-base Sauté is available for a separate browning step, so you do not need to infer burner safety just from the Sauté function. The exact package includes a stainless steam rack and an extra sealing ring. The page and FAQ identify the inner pot, lid and listed accessories as dishwasher-safe in the specified way; follow the manual’s cleaning and lid-disassembly steps rather than treating the entire appliance body as washable.

Who should compare another format?

Choose the Pro Plus when app-based monitoring or adjustment is an essential convenience, a six-quart stainless vessel suits your batch size, and a selectable 24-hour Slow Cook ceiling is enough. Its stove-to-oven pot use is a real distinction from models whose manufacturer does not confirm external-pot safety. Skip the app-dependent selling point if you will not use phone guidance; the control panel remains usable, but the app is where the manual puts its guided recipes. It is also more involved to clean and store than a dedicated cooker: pressure-capable lids, sealing parts, release hardware and several other cooking modes all come with the broader job.

Compare the standard Pro 6QT if saved Favorite keys and the longer Slow Cook timer matter more than app control. Compare the 7.5-quart RIO Wide Plus if the larger vessel and on-cooker recipe display fit better; its Slow Cook timer reaches 99 hours 30 minutes, but its manual does not document the same stovetop-to-oven pot use. A dedicated slow cooker may be the simpler option if all you want is a slow-only appliance with a separate glass lid and no pressure-cooker setup. For the exact configuration, check the 112-0124-01 manufacturer page and its linked U.S. R13 manual before relying on package contents, remote setup or cookware limits.

Key details at a glance

Nominal removable-pot capacity6 qt
Published outside dimensionsExact U.S. product page lists closed appliance dimensions; weight and useful open-lid clearance are not established.
Sous-vide water-bath modeYes
Lid clips for transportNo
Pressure-cooking programYes
Manual heat-setting dialNo
Timed cooking controlsSlow Cook accepts 30 minutes to 24 hours, Low or High. A selectable control maximum is not a recommended food-cooking or holding duration.
Removable pot and lid careThe exact manufacturer page identifies the removable inner pot as stovetop-to-oven safe up to 350°F and lists dishwasher-safe pot/lid care. Do not place the powered appliance base on a stovetop or in an oven; follow manual cleaning instructions.
Warm-setting guidanceThe exact R13 manual starts Keep Warm automatically after Slow Cook by default; the separate Keep Warm program has a 10-hour control maximum. This is a machine limit, not food-safety advice.
Separate Little Dipper food warmer includedNo
Casserole-format insertNo
Removable pot is oven-safeYes
Insulated carry bag includedNo
Nonstick removable potNo
Removable pot materialTri-ply stainless steel with aluminum core
In-unit Brown/Sauté functionYes
Separate steam functionYes
Maximum steam-cycle duration60 min
Separate in-cooker Roast programNo
One Pot program usable for slow cookingNo
Removable pot is stovetop-safeYes
Removable pot is dishwasher-safeYes
Maximum safe oven temperature350°F
Separate Party Dipper warmer includedNo
Published main-cooker control interfaceExact 112-0124-01 panel has an LCD/control dial and Wi-Fi indicator. The manual documents app control of Smart Programs and guided recipes in the phone app; it does not document on-appliance step-by-step recipe prompts.
Folding handles for storageNo
Two separate dishes cook at onceNo
Included steam basket, sling or rackYes
Named Yogurt programYes
Programmable Favorite keys0 keys
Slow Cook temperature defaultHigh
Stainless-steel insertYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Shortlist a cooker for the way you cook.

Choose the cooking functions and handling requirements you will actually use, then verify the exact model and supplied parts.