Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Would a three-quart pot plus pressure cooking cover your small-batch routine?
The exact page and V5 manual identify a three-quart Duo Mini with a pressure program. Nominal capacity is not a serving promise; choose a larger single vessel if your meals need more room.
Explore this need in the finder →Is Medium-equivalent heat essential, even though the exact Slow Cook timer ceiling is not published?
The exact V5 manual lists Normal as a traditional Medium equivalent at six hours, with Less and More presets at eight and four hours. It says the time can be adjusted but does not specify an overall maximum.
Explore this need in the finder →Does a delayed Slow Cook start help, or must the cooker promise a ready-at time?
The manual includes 10-minute-to-24-hour Delay Start for all Smart Programs except Sauté and Yogurt, but it does not schedule a desired meal-finish time.
Explore this need in the finder →Would you use a lid stand that keeps the pressure lid off the counter while serving?
The exact manual shows how to stand the lid upright in either base-handle slot. This is a counter-rest feature, not a travel clip.
Explore this need in the finder →The Instant Pot Duo Mini 3QT (110-0043-01) is the standard Duo Mini, not the differently programmed Duo Plus Mini. The standard model’s linked U.S. manual describes a three-quart cooker with a separate, non-pressure Slow Cook program alongside pressure cooking, Sauté, Steam, rice and yogurt. If a compact pot is useful but you still want more than slow cooking, this is a credible middle ground. Its nominal capacity is small, however, and the manufacturer does not translate that number into a reliable serving count.
Read the Slow Cook controls as a set
The model-matched manual gives three Slow Cook choices: Less for low-and-slow cooking at an eight-hour preset, Normal as the equivalent of a traditional medium setting at six hours, and More as the equivalent of high at four hours. You can adjust the displayed time with the plus and minus keys. The manual does not set out the program’s full minimum-to-maximum range, so I would not choose this unit for a required 24-hour timer ceiling; a longer setting is not confirmed simply because the display is adjustable.
Instant Pot says the Slow Cook program does not use pressure. Its instructions require the steam release to be set to Vent, or a vented glass lid to be used; the normal cooker lid is placed and locked for the cycle. This matters in daily use: it is not the familiar clear-lid crock whose contents are visible as they simmer. You need to follow the pressure-lid steps and give it time to cool and release before opening. A separate glass lid is listed as a replacement accessory, but it is not part of the exact product page’s stated package.
Delay Start is available for Smart Programs other than Sauté and Yogurt, which includes Slow Cook. The manual allows a delay from ten minutes to 24 hours. That is a delayed start, not a “finish dinner at 6 p.m.” schedule. It is a control option, not a food-safety recommendation for leaving ingredients unrefrigerated. Keep Warm starts automatically after most cooking programs, including Slow Cook; when the cycle ends, its elapsed-time display can count up to ten hours. Treat that as a device limit, not advice to hold a meal that long.
Compact does not mean bare-bones
The exact U.S. page lists a stainless-steel inner pot with an 18/8 cooking surface and tri-ply bottom, plus in-base Sauté. That lets you brown in the same pot before changing to a separate Slow Cook program; it does not create a second cooking zone. The maker also lists a steam rack, and the manual describes the 3QT metal rack as an accessory for steaming. The pot is not presented as nonstick. The product page calls both the pot and lid dishwasher-safe, while the manual’s detailed care instructions still require the lid parts to be removed and cleaned as directed.
One small handling detail stands out: the manual shows how to rest the lid upright in either cooker-base handle while you add food or serve. That is a documented lid stand, not a transport clip. It helps keep the lid off a wet counter but does not make this a locking travel cooker. The pressure vessel, electrical base and several lid parts remain more involved to clean and store than a simple manual slow cooker.
Instant Pot markets this version as seven cooking functions and eleven Smart Programs. The named choices are more useful than the total: it has a Slow Cook setting with the three heat equivalents above, but it is not the Duo Plus model’s sous-vide cooker. If sous vide is essential, compare the exact model number rather than relying on the shared “Mini” name. The 110-0043-01 listing gives 700 watts at 120 volts and 60 Hz, a one-year limited warranty, and dimension numbers without an explicit unit. Weight and open-lid clearance are not established in the sources; do not use those raw numbers to promise a fit under a shelf.
Who should choose it?
Consider the Duo Mini if your recipes suit a three-quart pot, you want a pressure function for faster meals, and you value a stainless insert with in-base browning and a medium-equivalent slow setting. It also has a useful lid-rest routine and a delayed start for the Slow Cook program. If the amount you regularly make needs a larger single vessel, move to a six-quart cooker rather than treating a nominal three-quart rating as three servings.
Choose a dedicated slow cooker instead if you want a glass lid that lets you monitor food, fewer pressure-related parts, a simple dial, or a clearly documented long cook timer. Choose the Duo Plus Mini only if its separately documented modes—especially sous vide—matter; do not transfer its manual, timing range, or program count to this standard Duo. This review is for SKU 110-0043-01 specifically. Check the label before buying a used unit, and use the manufacturer product page and its U.S. Duo V5 manual for setup, operation and cleaning.
Key details at a glance
| Nominal removable-pot capacity | 3 qt |
|---|---|
| Published outside dimensions | The product page gives Wide 10.0, Height 11.2 and Length 11.4 under “Size String: L x W x HT” but does not state units. Open-lid clearance and empty appliance weight are not established. |
| Sous-vide water-bath mode | No |
| Lid clips for transport | No |
| Pressure-cooking program | Yes |
| Manual heat-setting dial | No |
| Timed cooking controls | The exact 3QT manual lists Less 8 hours, Normal 6 hours and More 4 hours; it says the displayed Slow Cook time can be adjusted with plus/minus, but does not state the program’s total adjustable minimum or maximum. The three listed durations are presets, not a verified overall range. |
| Removable pot and lid care | The exact page says inner pot and lid are dishwasher-safe. Follow the manual’s part-specific lid cleaning instructions. The manual lists a separate 3QT glass lid (part 213-0001-01) as an optional replacement/accessory, not as included package content. Do not assume the loose inner pot is safe on an external stove. |
| Warm-setting guidance | The exact R42 instructions say Keep Warm turns on by default after Slow Cook; its elapsed-time counter runs up to ten hours. This is a device control limit, not food-safety or meal-holding advice. |
| Separate Little Dipper food warmer included | No |
| Casserole-format insert | No |
| Insulated carry bag included | No |
| Nonstick removable pot | No |
| Removable pot material | 18/8 stainless steel with tri-ply bottom |
| In-unit Brown/Sauté function | Yes |
| Brown/Sauté maximum setting | 392°F |
| Separate steam function | Yes |
| Separate in-cooker Roast program | No |
| One Pot program usable for slow cooking | No |
| Removable pot is dishwasher-safe | Yes |
| Separate Party Dipper warmer included | No |
| Published main-cooker control interface | Digital Duo Mini V5 panel. The 3QT diagram names Slow Cook, Pressure Cook, Sauté, Steam, Rice, Porridge, Soup/Broth, Meat/Stew, Bean/Chili and Yogurt program controls. The product page markets eleven Smart Programs; that marketing count is not substituted for the mode-specific manual instructions. |
| Folding handles for storage | No |
| Two separate dishes cook at once | No |
| Included steam basket, sling or rack | Yes |
| Named Yogurt program | Yes |
| Programmable Favorite keys | 0 keys |
| Stainless-steel insert | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Shortlist a cooker for the way you cook.
Choose the cooking functions and handling requirements you will actually use, then verify the exact model and supplied parts.
