Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Do you need an eight-quart main pot together with pressure cooking and a separate Air Fry lid?
The exact SKU page lists an eight-quart stainless pot, pressure cooking and a separate Air Fry lid; the second lid is a real storage and handling item, not a second cooking zone.
Explore this need in the finder →Must Slow Cook have a Medium-equivalent setting?
The linked R22 manual labels Normal as medium-equivalent, with a listed eight-hour preset; the Pro Crisp 8QT instead lists Low and High.
Explore this need in the finder →Would you rather have a known 24-hour Slow Cook timer ceiling or this two-lid setup?
This Duo Crisp manual permits time adjustment but does not publish the full maximum. A model with a documented 24-hour minimum ceiling is a better essential match.
Explore this need in the finder →Does a delayed Slow Cook start matter for your routine?
The exact R22 Slow Cook instructions say Delay Start is unavailable. The two-lid Air Fry finish happens after the cooking program, not on a meal-finish schedule.
Explore this need in the finder →The Instant Pot Duo Crisp + Air Fryer 8QT (140-0021-01) is a multi-cooker built around one large stainless-steel pot and two interchangeable lids: a pressure-cooking lid used for Slow Cook and pressure programs, plus a separate Air Fry lid. It makes the most sense for someone who wants those different jobs in one appliance and has room to keep the extra lid and basket parts. It is not a glass-lid slow cooker, and the additional function does not mean Slow Cook and Air Fry can run together.

Its Slow Cook routine is specific—and not delay-started
The R22 U.S. manual linked from the exact 8QT page describes Slow Cook as a non-pressure program. It says to set steam release to Venting or use a glass lid with a venting hole, then choose Less, Normal or More. The table calls these low-and-slow, medium-equivalent and high-equivalent settings, with listed presets of 10, 8 and 4 hours. You can adjust the displayed time, but the manual does not publish the complete minimum and maximum range. If you need a documented 24-hour ceiling, do not treat an adjustable timer as proof that this model reaches it.
There is no Delay Start for the Slow Cook program. The manual defaults Automatic Keep Warm to on, and its elapsed counter runs up to ten hours after cooking. That counter is a machine control limit, not a recommendation to hold food warm for that duration. If a delayed Slow Cook start is essential, look at an exact model whose own manual clearly documents it; if you want a selected meal-ready time, that is a different feature still.
Air frying is a second stage, not a second pot
The Air Fry lid adds its own routines, including Air Fry, Roast, Bake, Broil and Dehydrate, with a supplied basket, basket base and broil/dehydrator tray. The manual explicitly allows using the Air Fry lid to crisp after Slow Cook. This can cut down on switching to a separate air fryer, but it requires ending one program and replacing one lid with the other. After pressure cooking, release pressure fully and handle the hot pressure lid only as the instructions direct before switching. The air-fry manual calls for five inches of clearance around the vents while the lid is running. This is a sequential workflow, not a way to pressure-cook, slow-cook and crisp simultaneously.
Instant Pot's exact 8QT page lists a stainless inner pot and says the pressure lid and inner pot are dishwasher-safe. It also lists an air fryer lid, pressure lid, basket and support tray, steam rack, protective pad and storage cover in the package. The manual's cleaning directions are component-specific; the page's dishwasher statement names the pressure lid and inner pot, not every Air Fry part. More included pieces make the box flexible but also create more cleanup and cabinet storage than a dedicated cooker.
Large pot, but check the dimensions yourself
The nominal pot is eight quarts. Instant Pot markets it as serving up to eight, which can help frame its intended use but is not a dependable serving count for every recipe. The product page lists 1,500 watts at 120 V / 60 Hz and a one-year limited warranty. Its size fields read 13.58 wide, 15.28 high and 14.76 long; the page does not state units. Appliance weight and lid-open clearance are not given. Measure your counter and storage path with the actual manual, particularly because the air-fry lid needs open ventilation and a place to rest while cooling.
The page names eleven cooking functions and eleven customizable one-touch options. That differs from the 6QT Duo Crisp page, which says it has fifteen customizable options while listing the same eleven functions. Treat these as the manufacturer's program-option counts, not a tested difference in cooking results. The 8QT page and its directly linked R22 manual do not name Sous Vide, so it is not a good fit if that feature is a must-have. The current 6QT page-linked R25 manual does contain a Sous Vide chapter despite the 6QT page's shorter function list; do not transfer that uncertain capability to the older 8QT manual.
Choose it for capacity and an actual two-lid use case
The 140-0021-01 suits a kitchen that regularly benefits from an eight-quart main pot and will use the separate Air Fry lid after another cooking stage. Its medium-equivalent Slow Cook setting is a difference from the 8QT Pro Crisp 113-0043-01, whose R12 manual lists only Low and High. On the other hand, the Pro Crisp documents a 24-hour Slow Cook ceiling; this Duo Crisp's complete range is unknown. A 24-hour essential requirement should therefore send you to a model with that limit documented, not a guess from its adjustable timer.
For smaller batches, compare the Duo Crisp 6QT 112-0120-01. If you want a simpler single-lid appliance and confirmed delayed start for Slow Cook, the standard Duo V5 6QT makes that trade differently. If a clear window, manual dial, low storage burden or exact cabinet fit is more important than air frying, a dedicated cooker may suit better. No product-page capacity number demonstrates cooking performance, basket volume or compatibility with every recipe.
Check the exact product page for SKU 140-0021-01 and its linked R22 U.S. manual before choosing this configuration. The model code matters because the linked manual revision and accessory package can differ from related Duo Crisp or Pro Crisp models.
Key details at a glance
| Nominal removable-pot capacity | 8 qt |
|---|---|
| Published outside dimensions | Exact page lists Wide 13.58, Height 15.28, Length 14.76 in a size field that states no unit. Weight and useful Air Fry lid-open clearance are not published in the inspected sources. |
| Lid clips for transport | No |
| Pressure-cooking program | Yes |
| Manual heat-setting dial | No |
| Timed cooking controls | The directly linked R22 manual (printed page 31) lists Less=10 h (low-and-slow), Normal=8 h (medium equivalent) and More=4 h (high equivalent). It allows adjustment but does not publish the complete selectable minimum/maximum. It specifically says Delay Start is unavailable for Slow Cook. |
| Removable pot and lid care | The exact page names the pressure-cooking lid and inner pot as dishwasher-safe. It does not apply that statement to the separate Air Fry lid or all listed accessories; follow component-specific manual cleaning instructions. |
| Warm-setting guidance | The exact manual says Automatic Keep Warm is on by default after Slow Cook and displays elapsed Warm time up to 10 hours. This is an appliance counter, not food-safety or recommended holding guidance. |
| Separate Little Dipper food warmer included | No |
| Casserole-format insert | No |
| Insulated carry bag included | No |
| Removable pot material | Stainless steel |
| In-unit Brown/Sauté function | Yes |
| Separate steam function | Yes |
| Separate in-cooker Roast program | Yes |
| One Pot program usable for slow cooking | No |
| Removable pot is dishwasher-safe | Yes |
| Separate Party Dipper warmer included | No |
| Published main-cooker control interface | The exact page lists 11 customizable one-touch program options and 11 cooking functions; the manual shows a digital panel with program/time/temperature controls. The Slow Cook timer is adjustable, but its full selectable range is not stated. |
| Folding handles for storage | No |
| Two separate dishes cook at once | No |
| Included steam basket, sling or rack | Yes |
| Named Yogurt program | No |
| Stainless-steel insert | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- Instant Pot exact U.S. Duo Crisp + Air Fryer 8QT product page, SKU 140-0021-01
- Instant Pot Duo Crisp Multi-Cooker + Air Fryer U.S. manual R22 / 2025-08-22 (399-1273-03US), linked by exact SKU 140-0021-01 page
- Manufacturer exact page-linked Duo Crisp image for SKU 140-0021-01
- U.S. CPSC recall search for exact model code
Shortlist a cooker for the way you cook.
Choose the cooking functions and handling requirements you will actually use, then verify the exact model and supplied parts.