Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Is the exact red 33478FG a seven-quart slow cooker package with a separate Party Dipper?
Yes. Its exact title, model, image sequence and linked slow-cooker guide identify that package. The Party Dipper capacity remains unknown; unrelated air-fryer text in the current feature panel is not used.
Explore this need in the finder →Does its guide support a 24-hour combined cook-and-Warm window?
No. Guide 840368900 limits the two periods together to 14 hours.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the exact package publish the Party Dipper capacity?
No. The separate warmer is included, but its model-specific capacity is not stated.
Explore this need in the finder →The Hamilton Beach 33478FG is the red-finish Stay or Go slow-cooker package identified by its exact model page and the linked 840368900 use-and-care guide. Its page title and model-specific images show a clip-lid cooker with a separate Party Dipper; the page also contains feature text about an air-fryer handle that does not fit those images or the guide. I do not count an air-fry mode or the mismatched preset claims as features of this exact model. The guide identifies 33478 among its slow-cooker models, and the exact image shows the red cooker and warmer together.

Confirm the model, not just the color name
The main reason to consider the 33478FG is the exact red Party Dipper package. The product image and its descriptive image text identify a large seven-quart vessel, while the guide lists model core 33478 in the SC56 slow-cooker group. That combination is useful for a bigger meal plus a separate table warmer, but it is not one divided insert or a second cooking zone. The warmer's capacity is not stated for this exact package, so do not transfer the 20-ounce listing from newer 33778 bundles simply because both are red.
This matters especially if you are comparing marketplace listings or a box already in your kitchen. Read the full 33478FG model code and inspect the included pieces. Hamilton Beach's current page has a mixed description panel; the title, exact model number, image sequence and linked manual are the reliable identifiers used here. The panel's air-fryer phrase is not a reason to expect air-frying functions in this cooker.
What the 33478FG timer can do
The linked guide covers a programmable slow cooker with High, Low and Warm choices and separate 2-, 4-, 6-, 8- or 10-hour cook-time selections. The cooking temperature and selected hours work independently; after the timed slow-cook period, the unit changes to Warm. This is a straightforward start-now countdown, not a delayed-start clock or a scheduled meal-completion feature. The guide caps cooking and warming together at 14 hours. If your recipe and schedule need a longer continuous period, this is an important difference from the current 33778 manual family, whose guide documents a 24-hour combined limit. Do not treat Warm as another full day of holding.
The exact-page image shows a seven-quart oval main cooker, and Hamilton Beach's product-family description uses that size for a chicken or roast. A seven-quart cooker may suit larger family meals and batch cooking, but it is not an automatic fit for small portions. The guide advises filling the main crock at least halfway for best results and checking a half-filled pot earlier than the recipe's stated time. The exact 33478 page does not provide reliable outside dimensions or empty weight, so those remain unknown for a hard cabinet or lifting limit.
Party Dipper and travel are two extra chores
The red bundle includes the separate Party Dipper shown in the image and named in the product title. The guide treats the auxiliary food warmer as warming-only; it starts warming when plugged in and is not the seven-quart cooker's timer. When serving, plan for two electrical appliances, two cords and two small pieces to wash and store. The exact manual does not establish a Party Dipper capacity for the 33478FG package, so choose a newer exact package if a stated warmer volume is essential.
For travel, its clips secure the main glass lid after cooking. The manual says not to clamp the lid during cooking or food storage, and to carry by the base handles. The clips help keep a meal together for a careful trip; they do not make a tilted load leak-proof. The guide allows the removable crock in a conventional oven or microwave but says never to heat it empty or use it on a stovetop burner. The lid itself must stay out of the oven and microwave. Use the top dishwasher rack for removable pieces and avoid the Sanitize cycle.
Who should choose the red package?
Choose the 33478FG if you have verified this exact red model, want its separate Party Dipper and your cooking plan fits its documented 14-hour total cook-and-Warm window. Its useful difference from the silver 33477FG is finish, not a confirmed change to pot size, time selections or the accessory role. If a specific dip-warmer capacity or a longer total cycle is essential, the red 33778 is a clearer comparison: its own page identifies a 20-ounce Party Dipper and its linked guide records the 24-hour combined limit. If you do not need a second warmer, compare the simpler 33770/33771 package. There is no independent heat, travel-leak, durability or long-term test here; the decision is grounded in the exact code, manual and package evidence.
Key details at a glance
| Nominal removable-pot capacity | 7 qt |
|---|---|
| Published outside dimensions | No dimensions or empty weight are relied on for this exact model; the current product page has mismatched feature-panel content. |
| Sous-vide water-bath mode | No |
| Lid clips for transport | Yes |
| Pressure-cooking program | No |
| Manual heat-setting dial | No |
| Timed cooking controls | The exact 840368900 guide specifies High, Low or Warm temperature and a separate 2, 4, 6, 8 or 10-hour duration. After the timed cook the cooker moves to Warm. The combined continuous cook plus Warm time cannot exceed 14 hours; no later start or scheduled meal-finish time is documented. |
| Removable pot and lid care | The manual states that the removable crock can go in a microwave or oven but must never be heated empty or placed on a stovetop burner; the glass lid is not for microwave, conventional oven or stovetop. Dishwasher care is top-rack only; do not use Sanitize. |
| Warm-setting guidance | The guide limits cooking and warming together to 14 hours before shutoff. Warm is a holding setting, not a cook/reheat mode; follow safe-food guidance. |
| Separate Little Dipper food warmer included | No |
| Removable pot is oven-safe | Yes |
| Removable pot material | stoneware |
| One Pot program usable for slow cooking | No |
| Removable pot is stovetop-safe | No |
| Removable pot is dishwasher-safe | Yes |
| Separate Party Dipper warmer included | Yes |
| Published main-cooker control interface | The linked guide identifies the slow-cooker touch pad and ON/OFF, TEMP and HOURS controls. The 33478FG exact page also contains incompatible air-fryer feature copy; the corresponding claim is not used. |
| Maximum combined cooking and Warm run before shutoff | 14 hr |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Shortlist a cooker for the way you cook.
Choose the cooking functions and handling requirements you will actually use, then verify the exact model and supplied parts.