Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Must the removable SD9221U0 cast-iron pot itself be approved for induction cooking?
Yes. The SD922-family guide linked directly from the SD9221U0 page says the removable pot works on gas, electric or induction burners. Its cover says model SD922 rather than the full SD9221U0 suffix, so the exact page is retained as the exact-code identity bridge.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you want the white-finish five-quart cooker with both an in-base Sauté mode and a stove-safe removable pot?
Yes. The SD9221U0 product page identifies the white five-quart model; its linked SD922 guide documents both the Sauté program and cooktop use of the removable cast-iron pot.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need timed digital Slow Cook modes that switch automatically to a defined Warm period?
Yes. The SD922 guide linked by the exact SD9221U0 page documents timed digital High/Low Slow Cook programs followed by up to four hours of automatic Keep Warm and shutoff.
Explore this need in the finder →The All-Clad SD9221U0 is a five-quart digital slow cooker with a white cast-iron insert and lid, stainless electric housing and six cooking programs. Its key practical difference from a typical stoneware-only cooker is that the removable cast-iron pot is documented for gas, electric and induction burners as well as oven use. That lets a cook brown in the pot on the cooktop and then move it into the cooker base. The white finish is a visible choice, not evidence of a different heat program from the silver SD922D51 sibling.

Five quarts, a white insert and real stovetop flexibility
The SD9221U0’s white pot and lid give it a different look from the dark-pot SD922D51. All-Clad lists the exact model as white and identifies its material as cast iron; the manufacturer image shows that finish on the removable vessel above the digital base. Both exact pages describe six cooking programs and a five-quart capacity, and both linked instructions identify the SD922 cast-iron cooker family. No different cooking result or temperature performance is established by the white finish, so choose between the two on the finish you prefer and the fit facts each exact page actually supplies.
The owner guide linked from the SD9221U0 page says the removable pot can be used on gas, electric or induction, and the pot and lid are oven-safe. This is more specific than a generic “stovetop-safe” claim: the guide names induction as well. The powered base also has a Sauté function at a fixed 320°F, so you can brown in the base instead of moving the pot to a burner. That gives two different prep paths, but it is still a countertop electric cooker rather than a pressure cooker. Its five-quart capacity is a nominal vessel volume, not a guaranteed servings figure.
Understand the cooking controls before planning a day
The six labeled programs are Slow Cook High, Slow Cook Low, Braise, Sauté, Simmer and Manual. The guide lists High from two to eight hours and Low from four to twenty hours in half-hour increments. After the timed slow-cook cycle, Keep Warm runs for up to four hours, then the cooker shuts off. That gives a defined holding period for already-cooked food, not an unlimited warm setting or a way to reheat leftovers. No delayed-start or “ready at” scheduling function appears in the linked guide.
The other choices are more like stovetop-style tasks with a timed control. Braise has a 1.5-hour, 275°F preset; its documented range is 1.5–3 hours and 275–320°F. Sauté runs at 320°F for a chosen 30 minutes to two hours. Simmer offers 195°F or 215°F for ten minutes to one hour. Manual provides 200–340°F in 20-degree steps and a 30-minute-to-four-hour timer. The guide says preheating happens before the cooking countdown begins on the programs that preheat, so a selected duration is not the entire elapsed time from pressing Start. High and Low slow-cook temperatures are preset rather than user-selected.
Check dimensions and care, not just the color
The exact SD9221U0 page lists 14.9 × 14.9 × 13.1 inches, but it does not label those numbers as width, depth or height. Do not treat the third number as confirmed cabinet height or infer the extra space needed to lift the lid. The page’s weight field reads 21.830000 without units, so it cannot support a pounds-based handling cutoff. The cast-iron insert is also a heavy hot object: the guide says to use oven gloves when lifting it, and it warns that the electric housing gets hot during operation.
Cleanup requires more care than the phrase “dishwasher-safe” alone implies. The linked SD922 guide says the pot is dishwasher-safe, but recommends washing the pot and lid by hand, drying them immediately, and periodically seasoning their interiors. The product page gives a different seasoning routine from the guide, so use the instructions supplied with the exact unit if those details matter to you. Never submerge the powered base, heat an empty pot, use the insert in a microwave, or put the electric housing in an oven. The guide also says not to use the pot for food storage or reheating. Those restrictions make a conventional dishwasher-safe stoneware model more convenient if the cooktop-to-cooker pot transfer is not a feature you will use.
Is this the right five-quart configuration?
Choose the SD9221U0 when you want a white-finish cast-iron slow cooker, need a removable pot documented for induction, and expect to use its selectable slow-cook, Braise, Sauté, Simmer or Manual routines. The white version is not the lightweight answer: the published numeric weight has no unit, and the insert remains cast iron. If you want the same general program family in a silver finish, compare the separately identified SD922D51, whose page gives a different image and does not provide those dimension numbers. If capacity matters more than cast iron, the seven-quart SD700350 has a distinct ceramic-coated cast-aluminum insert and a different timed program structure. For any narrow counter or cabinet, measure the actual appliance and raised lid because the published dimension axes and open-lid clearance are not specified. No cooking-performance test, current market price or stock status is asserted.
See the All-Clad SD9221U0 product page and its linked SD922 cast-iron slow-cooker guide for exact identity and operating details.
Key details at a glance
| Nominal removable-pot capacity | 5 qt |
|---|---|
| Published outside dimensions | The exact SD9221U0 page lists 14.9 × 14.9 × 13.1 inches but assigns no width/depth/height axes; open-lid clearance is not listed. |
| Sous-vide water-bath mode | No |
| Lid clips for transport | No |
| Pressure-cooking program | No |
| Manual heat-setting dial | No |
| Timed cooking controls | The exact SD922-family guide lists Slow Cook High for 2–8 hours and Slow Cook Low for 4–20 hours, in 30-minute steps. It documents separate High and Low programs, not a timed High-then-Low sequence. Slow Cook switches to Keep Warm for up to 4 hours, then shuts off. Delayed start and ready-by scheduling are not documented. |
| Removable pot and lid care | The exact linked SD922-family guide says the cast-iron pot and lid are oven-safe and the pot is usable on gas, electric and induction burners. The pot is dishwasher-safe, but handwashing the pot and lid and drying immediately are recommended; care seasoning details differ between the exact product page and linked guide. Maximum oven temperature is not stated. The electrical base remains countertop-only and must not be immersed. |
| Warm-setting guidance | After a timed slow-cook cycle the cooker automatically switches to Keep Warm for up to 4 hours, then shuts off. The guide warns against using the cooker to reheat food. |
| Separate Little Dipper food warmer included | No |
| Removable pot is oven-safe | Yes |
| Insulated carry bag included | No |
| Nonstick removable pot | No |
| Removable pot material | Enameled cast iron pot and lid |
| In-unit Brown/Sauté function | Yes |
| Separate steam function | No |
| Separate in-cooker Roast program | No |
| One Pot program usable for slow cooking | No |
| Removable pot is stovetop-safe | Yes |
| Removable pot is dishwasher-safe | Yes |
| Separate Party Dipper warmer included | No |
| Maximum combined cooking and Warm run before shutoff | 24 hr |
| Folding handles for storage | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Shortlist a cooker for the way you cook.
Choose the cooking functions and handling requirements you will actually use, then verify the exact model and supplied parts.